Please choose a category and/or a department for related Frequently Asked Questions.
Remember, your drop-down menu selections are retained even after the page refreshes until you make another selection.
Can I renew my library books by phone or from home?
Library staff does not do any renewals by phone. If you have a computer at home and can access our library catalog, you can renew your books from home through our Online Catalog.
How long may I keep a materials that I checked out from the library?
Library material may be checked out for three weeks, including most audio-visual items. Bluebonnet books and New Books may be checked out for two weeks.
How much are the fines for having overdue materials from the library?
Overdue Fines: $0.20 per day, up to an $8.00 maximum per item. Fines are charged on holidays as well as on the days we are open. There are two book drops available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.
Fines for lost or damaged items: Cost of the item + additional fees for non-book items
I want a quiet study place. Does the Library have any study rooms?
There are many study carrels on the second floor and it is quieter there. Also there are 4 small private study rooms. They are guaranteed for one hour.
I am working on a project to trace my family history. Does the Library have any genealogy resources?
Our library houses the Williamson County Genealogy Society's collection. We also have CD-ROMs, microfilms, books and online electronic resources to assist you with your research. See Genealogy Resources.
How do I find out if I have an overdue item from the library?
Use the Online Catalog. Click "My Account" and enter your library card bar code numbers. Click "Items Out" to view the items that you checked out with the due date. If you have problems accessing our catalog, you may also call the Library Circulation Desk at 218-7001.
What if I lose or damage something I have borrowed from the library?
There will be a replacement fee plus a fine if it is overdue.
Where do I return library materials if the library is closed?
There are two drive through drops on the west side of the Library. One is for books and one is for audio-visual/puppets.
How many books can I check out at the Library? What about audiovisual materials?
Generally, new single users may check out five items during the first month of use and 15 items thereafter. New family card members may check out fifteen items during the first month of probation period and 45 items thereafter.
What are the Library hours? Is the Library open on Sundays? What about holidays?
The Library is open seven days a week: 9 a.m. to 9 p.m. Monday-Thursday, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Friday-Saturday, and 1 to 6 p.m. on Sunday. The Library observes most national holidays. The Library will close during extreme weather conditions.
How and where do I get a library card? Do I have to have a Texas driver's license?
You can get a library card at the circulation desk at the Round Rock Public Library. Free for residents living within the Round Rock city limits and $25 for nonresidents (single member card) or $40 (family card). You need a current Texas drivers license or a utility bill, etc. (to verify your current address). See Library Cards and Fines for details.
I want to rent a library meeting room. What is the procedure?
The Library has four meeting rooms that accommodate different size groups for all citizens. Rooms are available on a first come, first served basis. If you have any questions, please contact the Library admin office at 218-7005.
Can I use a library computer to type my resume? What software do the library computers have?
The Library has eight word processing computers with Microsoft Word, Excel, PowerPoint, Printshop, WordPerfect, Microsoft Works. They are all connected to a network printer. Prints are $0.10 a page.